Maybe the party isn’t Republican enough!

Things have been a blur the last couple of weeks.   That is nothing compared to this week, or the coming 3 months.  Monday I filed for congress, Tuesday I started fielding calls, and today I had several interviews.

I came home to find the television guy changed his focus after interviewing me.  Go figure.  The heart of the story after editing, focused on the legality of my candidacy.  The focus when he talked to me was “why do you want to be congressman.”

The contention has been made somewhere, that I am not a republican.  I object.  I strongly object.

I started identifying with the Republican Party when Richard Nixon was in office.  This is far earlier than most people I know, as Richard Nixon left office when I was 6.  I am not trying to contend that I understood politics, or even partisanship, but most of my family were Democrats.

I pulled for Gerald Ford, but couldn’t vote for him.  Like many other Republicans I suffered the long 4 years of the Carter administration.  I watched as we signed over the strategic Panama Canal (Chinese shipping companies tied to the Chinese military have a large presence there now), had our citizens taken hostage in Tehran, and the economy tanked.

I was desperately pulling for Ronald Reagan even though my sister said he would take us into nuclear war.  Reagan brought conservatism to my understanding of politics, and I was excited to think about a smaller government.

George H.W. Bush was next, and along came Newt Gingrich, Mark Souder, and the Republican revolution.  Now we were surely going to cut the government down to size.

Bill Clinton came along, and called Republican ideas his own. they were arguably his only successes.

George W. Bush came along and the fiasco of the 2000 election.  This is when the partisan politics really got ugly.

 As far as my activity locally:  I used to run a restaurant here in town.  One day the GOP chair asked if they could have their breakfasts there.  I readily agreed even though our restaurant was not open for breakfast.  I drug my wife, who didn’t even work there at the time, in to help me cook one Saturday a month.

I became active in the party, helped with events, and attended functions locally and at the state level.  Later I organized and cooked for rallies, won a seat on the county council, served as precinct committee chairman, and had my wife volunteer to be vice-chair(the incoming chair asked for her because 2 males, him and I, could not serve as chair and vice-chair).

In 2006, nearly 5 years after 9/11, our government still refused to secure our borders.  We were at war, and our government had no interest in securing our border?  How could that be?

There was a big illegal immigration debate brewing in Washington leading up to the Indiana primary in 2006.  Republican voters around the country were screaming, and their screams fell on deaf ears.

I decided the country was more important than the party I identified with most of my life, and that someone had to bring some sanity to Washington D.C.

I convinced the Indiana Libertarian party to let me run on their vacant ticket.  There was a requirement for them to file a 10 day notice of intent to fill a vacancy, which they faxed on time, but faxing was not an acceptable method of filing that notice.  The Secretary of State denied my candidacy.

I toyed with running as something other than a Republican, but I feel a duty to try to change the party.  The only Democrat I ever remember voting for is Mike Schrader.  He was a good Sheriff, and from working with him on County Council I felt he would make a good County Commissioner.

I meet the criteria to run, and don’t think there is any way I can be kept off the GOP primary ballot.

Put America First

Let the voters decide if I am Republican enough.

 sign5.JPG

About votescottwise

I love Columbia City. I was born here, spent most of my life in and around Columbia City, and chose to make our community home after college. I want my children and grandchildren to be able to take advantage of what this country and our community have. I am running for Mayor of Columbia City in 2011.
This entry was posted in domestic affairs, news, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

