Absence makes the heart grow fonder

A couple of weeks ago, I broke down and finally decided dial up was no deal.  It had been a long time since I enjoyed the internet.  My new DSL was to be up and running a week ago Tuesday.  Of course the modem didn’t come.  I had already called to cancel my dial up.  My modem didn’t come Wednesday either.  On Thursday Thanksgiving day I stopped by my in-laws, who were having trouble with their new DSL.  I ended up calling technical support, and got their DSL up and running.  While I was talking to them I asked about my delivery.  They informed me everything should have been in order, and gave me the shipping company’s number.  I called the shipping company, who had delivered to my house dozens of times, and found the driver could not find my house.  I gave them directions and they said they would deliver it this past tuesday.  Las Friday I was thinking that I could just run over to Fort Wayne on Monday and pick it up myself rather than waiting until Tuesday.

I called the shipping company.  I offered to pick it up Monday.  They said that wasn’t necessary they could drop it off to me Monday, but I needed to give them directions.  I shared with them that I had already done that, but gave them again. 

Monday came and went without a delivery.  I called Monday and found that they were holding the package for a customer requested delivery date, which was Tuesday.  They told me they needed directions to my house.  I shared with them I had already explained how to get to my house twice, and gave them directions.

Yesterday, I called to check on the scheduled delivery.  I found that the package was held to get directions to my home.  I shared with them that I had done that multiple times already.  I gave them directions to my home.  I strongly suggested they deliver it before they were finished for the day.  They said they would call me back.

I work 2nd and had to go to work.  They finally called my wife and said we could have the package if we would meet the driver in town.  She met him and got the modem.  I got off work last night, came home, and hooked it up.

DSL is great.  Click and you go there.  Why did I wait so long?  I have almost completely forgotten about the run around. 

Just before I went to bed last night, I looked at the return address on the package, and found it originated in Warsaw.  Less than 15 miles and it took exactly 2 weeks to arrive.

About votescottwise

I love Columbia City. I was born here, spent most of my life in and around Columbia City, and chose to make our community home after college. I want my children and grandchildren to be able to take advantage of what this country and our community have. I am running for Mayor of Columbia City in 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

