2000 Americans dead

I read a piece today from French media (AFP) on Yahoo.  You might have seen it.  The big point was that between 2003 and 2005, 2000 people died in the United States during arrest.  Some of them were shot by police, some were ill, some had accidents, and some comitted suicide.

The Ironic thing is that is similar to the number that have died in Iraq over the same time period.  I am not trying to diminish the sacrifice of the soldiers and their families, but merely adding some perspective.  Perspective is something sorely missing from today’s media.  Seldom is time taken in the print or electronic media to give historical perspective.

About votescottwise

I love Columbia City. I was born here, spent most of my life in and around Columbia City, and chose to make our community home after college. I want my children and grandchildren to be able to take advantage of what this country and our community have. I am running for Mayor of Columbia City in 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

